Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have lived in (ok. for about a month–thanks again sis) and around the NYC metro area the majority of my life.  I went to college in the City, worked in the City, hung out in the City, and shopped in the City.  As a New Yorker, there are certain things we just don’t do.  We don’t go to Times Square.Period.Point.Blank.  If we have to go through Times Square, we speed walk cutting through the HORDES of people, dirty street Elmos, and totally ignore the many Naked Cowboys (yes, there is a Naked Cowgirl and most recently, a Naked Black Cowboy!)  We don’t stop to take pictures in front of things and we don’t look up!  God forbid we look up and look remotely touristy!  To “natives” stopping to look up marks you as an easy target to the pick-pockets and thieves looking to take advantage of starry eyed tourists!!!

Well, a funny thing happened to me a few weeks ago. I was given the opportunity to stay in the City for a week and was quite excited.  Me and my family headed down to 35th street, between 5th and 6th and stayed at the Manhattan Comfort Inn–one block over from the Empire State Building.  Where we lived liked tourists for a week.  We even strolled through Times Square.  However, I did not allow my husband to have any pictures taken of my kids with the dirty street characters.  He made me do that one other time and I WAS MORTIFIED!  I have a picture of that, but am too embarrassed to post here.

Anyway, staying at the hotel allowed me to view things up top so to say.  Because we don’t stop to look up, we miss a lot of the architectural details on some of the older buildings.  On the first morning after our arrival, I opened the curtains to our room and was greeted by the following:

IMG_1127 IMG_1128 IMG_1129 IMG_1130(The Empire State Building)

Moving forward, my plan is take photos of all the interesting vintage buildings and architecture I see for a weekly series entitled Friday’s Facade.  I hope you enjoy looking at them as much as I do and will come back often to see the new additions.

